Village Council

By virtue of the authority of the Constitution and Public Act 278 of 1909, the Village of Birch Run was established as a home rule village effective December 5, 1955.  The Village Council constitutes the legislative and governing body of the village, and has all power and authority to adopt such laws, ordinances, and resolutions it deems proper in exercising it’s duties.  The Village Council is made of five elected members, one of whom is selected to serve as President. Village Council elections are held during the November general election in even years,  with 3 members elected on each ballot.  The two candidates receiving the highest number of votes are elected for a four-year term and the candidate receiving the third highest number of votes is elected to a two-year term.  Regular meetings of the Village Council are held on the fourth Monday each month at 7:00pm, unless changed due to a holiday or majority vote of Council members.

Marianne Nelson     (Term ends 11/5/2024)

Council Members
David Cook              (Term ends 11/10/2026)
Kheila Knight          (Term ends 11/10/2026)
Blaike Stafford        (Term ends 11/5/2024)
Tom White              (Term ends 11/5/2024)

Rules of Procedure for Village Council Meetings


Independence Day Parade

Independence Day Parade